Success: A thought during my beach trip to Pensacola, Fl

My father Kayaking on the Santa Rosa Sound in Pensacola, Fl

My father Kayaking on the Santa Rosa Sound in Pensacola, Fl

            You would think me being down in Pensacola for vacation would give me a clear head, and not really think about doing anything except for just relaxing on the beach with my family, nope. With my mind racing and trying to figure some things out, the beach is only a slight reprieve. Maybe 4 hours of one, depending when I feel I am baked (from the sun you bad thinking people) enough. Work and the attempt to find work for myself personally and my business is constantly on my mind and not willing to escape the ignorance of the hopeful bliss I would love to have while here on vacation. But, isn’t that the normality of life when it comes to being a free-lancer? Especially when you are a creative, like a photographer?

            I have been thinking about something these past few days, after I got into a conversation with a fellow colleague and I want to throw something out there to you, the readers. Whether this is photography related to you (for those of you that are in the same profession as me), or something else that you might be into. This question really applies to anything. When you think to yourself, what is success, what do you think? What do you honestly, truly, think success is? How do you, yourself, measure it? At what point in your life do you go and think. This is something that I have been thinking about a lot over the past few days. I think I began to ponder about the subject had to do with after a discussion with a colleague of mine who has been in the business for a good number of years.

            I am not sure about anyone else, but success is a very simple thing to me. It has taken me a very long time to get to that point in life as I used to think that big success was the only type of success. Much like when you set goals, you immediately go for the big goals, and don’t think about the smaller ones you have to set and achieve along the way.

            I’ve developed an unfortunate perception these past few years that I have not been very successful in the world of photography and really in life itself in general. Quite frankly, lot of it had to do with the fact that I had gone through a really bad depression for two years and didn’t really anything was going the way I wanted. But, that was my fault. And, that’s another story to be quite frank. When I look at everything I have accomplished and have done, I see that truth be told, I have actually accomplished a LOT more than I think I did. But due to my neglecting of the small things, and not achieving my big goals in the manner and time that I wanted to, I couldn’t or rather wouldn’t allow myself to believe I was being successful.

            What I would like to get across with this article, to someone who is reading it, is that in all honesty, success is in the eye of the beholder. I feel a though that I have been successful and that I will continue to be successful and ultimately at the end of the day. Be where I want to be in a timely manner. It’s just a matter of time. I feel that is the same for everyone and that I hope it will continue to be that way.

           So, everyone, please continue to be successful and continue to dream love yourself and what you do, and have fun with who you are and where you think or know you want to go!

Leave a Reply

