..Conformity..

That word, Conformity, has never really bothered me that much. I tend to try to NOT be one to conform to as many things as possible, especially things that constrict progression and individualism. Now,  granted some people could possibly say that this is why someone does not succeed in life. But, honestly I think it is the other way around. Conformity is the process by which an individual’s attitudes, beliefs, and behaviors are influenced by other people. Now who the heck wants to do that? If you don’t individualize yourself from everyone else, or at least give the attempt to. How can you ever be your own person? My take on conformity, as I try to stay away from it as much as possible, especially in photography, is to not conform. If you conform, where is the progression? All that is happening is the same. Progression thrives off differences, if there are no differences, there is no advancement. How can we advance when everyone has the same idea? If someone comes up with a newer and better way to do something, but is to scared that their idea of conforming to the norm is threatened they may not bring that idea out to the forefront. Who wants that? I know I sure don’t. Now I know that some people reading this may not agree with what I am saying, and honestly, that’s fine by me. I would hope that there isn’t a lot of people who agree with me. I am doing this post merely to just open up someone’s thoughts and allow them to think. When someone conforms to a mass norm, they are not part of the solution but more the problem and that problem is the lack of progression to not only make themselves better but what is around them as well.

Leave a Reply

